A silent art of Overthinking !

  

  

Overthinking! We all do it, don’t we ?Of course we all do it. Even I do it, it’s been ruining things for me since my early teens. Now I have come to the conclusion that it is  probably one of my more hard hitting habits. I don’t even realize I do it anymore cause it has become that natural to me. Overthinking causes damage, and by the phrase damage I mean that It’s 3 am in the morning and I am overanalyzing every aspect of my life, what I have done right, what I have done wrong in the span of my 19 years in this world, kind of damaging my sleep hours. And by damage I am referring to the beautiful 2 hours of sleep I am willingly to allowing myself to lose at night. That’s the problem with overthinking your mind is going a mile a minute. If something is causing you that much distress or fixation, then it’s clearly affecting your state of mind and sleep. Innocuous thoughts on not, something is very important enough to you. Overthinking is a parasitic, it’s viral it’s deadly, even letting yourself fall victim to overthinking doesn’t just kill your happiness, it destroys who you are. The mind is a beautiful and complex thing, and the only person who can hurt it is yourself. It is an instant destroyer of highly skilled, developed tasks of any sort whether the mental or physical variety. 

Infact my whole life, I always thought to myself, I probably shouldn’t do that. Whether it was my descision making or raising my hand when I have a good idea to give, I have never taken a chance. Infact being careful was something that I always prided  myself on. I have been able to weigh all my options and think things through logically, as a result of this I have had a pretty pleasant and safe life untill now. My thoughts used to stay scribbled onto the pages of my journals untill, I started unknowingly overthinking out so much that I basically constituted in word vomit. I think this is why overthinking is so bittersweet. We often overthink things that have caused us hurt or happiness, just to experience it repeatedly.

I consider myself an introspective individual. I have this habit of imagining what life is going to bring and what it holds for me in the future. Basically I have been living a life with preconceived notions of  what will and won’t happen, without it ever actually occuring or happening.

For a long period of time I have been driving myself crazy, overthinking every descision I have been making and I have made. I have been so particular about the things I say and doing things wrong that I knotted myself anyways. This being said, I think it will be ill advised to ignore every inner thought of mine that have ever crossed my mind at some point. If I could only find a decent amount of balance between taking things as they come, at face value and by embracing my introspective qualities such so that they don’t interfere or inhibit my life, then I should be in a good shape.

As humans we are constantly thinking, without even realizing that we are thinking. Our brains are beating us up, maybe because even they are essentially out to get us. Understood !!? I am ultimately telling you that our brains suck. Joking, kind of though. I don’t know about you, but coming to me my brain always loved to team up with that other fundamental organ in my body making my life a living hell.

Overthinking is a whole other aspect in its own. It’s freakishly weird how much succumb to it as well. If I even go 2 hours without thinking about something in specific that has been on my mind for however long, I am truly amazed. According to me overthinking may or can teach us two things 

  1. That we are absolutely insane
  2. That we are experiencing something completely normal.

Yes sometimes thinking too much about one thing is frustrating and tiring, oh god I can’t even tell you how many times I have been wanting to turn off or completely shut my mind entirely physically.

But on my other side, overthinking has not always a bad thing for me , infact there were times gene I have made lot of good conclusions in my life. Not every over thought was an issue that was there never to begin with. Some times things need to be thought more deeply in order for them to come to the surface and for you to decipher if at all it’s worth making your mind vacant to anything or anyone else. Let it be with your education, job, relationships, etc…  You always need to remember that your thoughts are your mediators and also your main peacekeepers.
You must be waiting for my conclusion point of why Overthinking is an art . It’s an art because individually we are able to have such vivid, vast and creative imaginations or maybe simply it’s just an art of Conjuring up the problems which were actually not there in the first place and were never there to begin with. So my dear friend whatever it is or where ever it is, your thoughts are always with you and primarily you are the only one who can decide whether or if you will let them get the best out of you. Overthinking is draining, but simultaneously it is helpful in determining how much you are going to let your mind control your happiness and emotions.

At the end I won’t tell you to stop overthinking completely, it’s just that the things that you know are not worth your time and that take away from those precious hours of sleep, when your head finally hits the pillow.


Leave a Reply

